Sorry. So sorry. I am sorry. Wow, I’m sorry to hear that…..

Hmm. More introspection. I do not think I take a word against me without reflection. If you see a failing in me, and point it out, I do contemplate it… I’ve been TOO sensitive lately, and more defensive than normal, which isn’t good. Which I am going to have to work through.   But, one of the things that was pointed out to me in the last few weeks was that I say sorry too much.

My friend suggested I apologize for far too many things. She says that sorry is for when you have done something wrong, and most of the time I have not done anything wrong. So I have thought about this. I counted the next day, the number of times I said sorry. More than a dozen. So. Is there anything wrong with that?

I think it depends on what sorry looks like to you. I googled it. Yup. Had to look up the word. What I found exceedingly interesting, is that the way most people use it is last on the list, and in brackets – as though the dictionary thinks it only half counts.
Sorry, be definition:
1. feeling regret, compunction, sympathy, pity, etc.
3. sorrowful, grieved, or sad
4. associated with sorrow; suggestive of grief or suffering; melancholy; dismal.
6. (used interjectionally as a conventional apology or expression of regret)

I say sorry for just about everything. Best friend’s kids are ready to kill each other? “I’m sorry.” I forgot to leave something in the mailbox that we discussed, and now you can’t pick it up? “Sorry.” I actually screwed up, and hurt your feelings? “I’m sorry.” Your heart is breaking, and you don’t know how to pick up the pieces? “I am so, so sorry.” I feel it – your pain. That’s perhaps why I am not convinced I use it too much. I mean it every time.  Whether it is the small things in life that are getting you down, or the big things, I want to be empathetic.  I do.  I want to know what is hurting you today….

I told a friend yesterday that if I could live in other people’s darkness to bring them some light, I would.  That is why sorry falls off my lips so easily.  And I’m not sure I’m sorry for that.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Raquel
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 11:47:58

    Are we talking about me?

    Reply

  2. Raquel
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 14:42:12

    Not exactly but almost.

    Reply

  3. Nicole
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 15:55:58

    LOL. Well, I take everything you say to heart too…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

