Have I Had a Good Moment Yet??

I have been thinking lately about what makes “good” good.  The New Testament is full of the talk of rewards in heaven.  Christ talked about them often, about what motivates us to do good works.  And what takes away from the goodness of our actions.  Not to say that we should not make a supper for a friend, or visit someone in the hospital.  And, not even to say that our actions must be entirely altruistic – I have botched things up that way too.  But to ask, what about doing the right thing truly pleases God?

The two areas where I struggle – where my actions are less than they ought to be – are addressed in Scripture; doing them to be noticed for how awesome I am (which I am not), and doing them begrudgingly. 

“Thus, when you give to the needy, sound no trumpet before you, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and in the streets, that they may be praised by others. Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward.”  Matthew 6:2

“Each one must give as he has made up his mind, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.”  2 Corinthians 9:7
“Do all things without grumbling or questioning”  Philippians 2:14

I wonder, sometimes, when Christ says “Well done, My good and faithful servant” what that is actually going to look like for me.  I can think of so few moments in my life where I have not either tooted my own horn, subtley or otherwise; or grumbled about helping someone.  And neither honors God.

God wants us to serve Him, and others, out of an overflow of praise, and an ability to see the better in others.  “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves.”  Philippians 2:3. 

It is something of a sobering reminder for me today.  I want to delight in my Lord, and to have my actions flow out of the peaceful satisfaction that is His sufficiency for me.  I want to be able to serve others out of knowing that His grace is sufficient for me, that His power is made great in my weakness.  That I can be weak enough for His strength, and goodness to shine through – that He might receive all the glory for the actions of my life.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. susan
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 14:15:14

    this is beautiful Nikk.

    thank you for the thoughts to think. i too struggle with wanting to ‘do the right thing’ for the Glory of God, out of the joy i have in His presence in my life and not just ‘to be a good person’ . because what good is ‘good’ when we cannot please God with our ‘goodness’ (without Jesus!!!) 🙂

    love you
    friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

