Sacrilege

“I was reading G. Campbell Morgan’s definition of sacrilege. He said that it is normally defined as taking something that belongs to God and using it profanely. We all know the instance in the Book of Daniel when Belshazzar took the vessels in the temple and used them for his night of carousing and blasphemy. That was a sacrilegious use. But sacrilege, said Morgan, does not only consist of such profane use. In its worst form it consists of taking something and giving it to God when it means absolutely nothing to you. That was the charge God brought against His people when He said, ‘You bring the lame and the blind and the sick as an offering, is that not wrong?” Cries of the Heart – Ravi Zacharias

This book really spoke to me – this particular quote especially. I think that, so often, it is easy to look at the Isrealites, and the mistakes they make, and wonder “How? He was so specific in what you offer. How could you give Him a lame sheep? A blind dove?” And yet….

The first and greatest commandment is to love the Lord our God with our whole hearts, our whole minds, our whole strength. We are no longer offering animals – as Christ paid at the cross an all-sufficient sacrifice. But, we are offering our time, our talents, our resources. And I am too quick to withhold my best hours of the day for other things, and read my Bible when it is convenient. I run to the phone to have someone to talk to when I clean the kitchen – I could be running to God in prayer. I read my Bible after all my other books are done, not before. I don’t give my firsts.

One of the best things I am learning in my current Bible study is that we need to call things what they are. And calling giving-God-my-leftovers “busyness” or other things like that is sin. It ought to be called “sacrilege”.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Raquel
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 11:07:39

    good thoughts… convicting thoughts. sacrilege is such a heavy word and applying to myself makes me want to grow all the more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

