The Shack.

This is not the first time I have posted regarding this, although if you are a regular reader on here, finding my page on The Shack is a little obscure. It’s under book quotes I think (see, I don’t even know how to find it : )

I am re-responding to this, because the amount of accusations I have come up against surprises me. I am forever caught off guard at how personally people respond to my comments – about why I consider the book dangerous. I think the reason for that is the fact that it is an emotional book. And, it makes people feel things, and not just think things. And, when our emotions are engaged – then it is personal for us. Which makes it something we want to defend personally. It is NOT personal for me. I do not pick it apart for personal reasons. I have made an issue of it, because I believe the book has many dangerous teachings, and I think people need to see where the doctrine errs from the Bible. It doesn’t make me popular.

My concerns with the arguments presented to me are that they usually involve the author being a nice person, about me being an angry blogger who has nothing better to do, and a general sense of anyone who dissects a book doctrinally clearly does not love people very well.

The greatest irony I see is that people on one hand want to challenge me because “It’s just fiction” all the while talking about how much the book has helped them – in their ability to deal with suffering, in their understanding of who God is. It can not be both. If it is impacting your perception of God, it’s not “just fiction” any more. Regardless of the author’s intents.

I am concerned that while the publishing company says “This book flatly states that all roads do not lead to Jesus” it goes on to say that “while some of that was in earlier versions because of the author’s partiality at the time to some aspects of what people call UR…” There was some editing done, to tone down the concept of UR (ultimate reconciliation – or Christian universalism). It is NOT a matter for me of looking under every rock to find errant doctrine. It’s a matter of seeing it when it is there.

I think that The Shack is a symptom of our times – and I will stick my neck out and say I believe it represents what is becoming the most dangerously influential false understanding of God and the Bible in our generation…. What is happening right now is a redefinition of all things theological in the light of “God is love”. This is becoming a foundational framework by which all other truths are being examined. And it is detrimental to our understanding of God, and His motives and our relationship with Him, His relationship to us, and His relationship within the Trinity.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. susan
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 10:10:47

    Well said. well posted sister friend. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. krislinatin
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 14:01:57

    oh my gosh, couldnt have said it better myself, can i use this in (as part of) my review of the book? im in the midst of writing it, but am at a loss for words.
    actually not at a loss, just cant get them arranged in any readable order.

    Reply

  3. Nicole
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 14:25:04

    by all means.

    Reply

  4. {{strong.girl
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 20:19:20

    Nikk, I agree with what someone else said on your other thread about The Shack. You have a gift of discernment, and where many pass things over, you see what isn’t plain to everyone. I appreciate that about you and you have been teaching me to keep my eyes open wider rather than accepting anything with a “Christian” stamp on it. I especially appreciated your thoughts on Rob Bell (not to open another can of worms) because I was a gung-ho Nooma watcher.

    I think you should take heart in realizing that the people who can pick out the faulted theology are usually the ones who know it the best. I appreciate your willingness to “stick your neck out” because no one likes to feel unpopular. This isn’t a popularity contest, this is black and white truths about our God, but you definitely have my vote. šŸ˜‰

    Love you.

    Reply

  5. Nicole
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 06:44:51

    You make my heart happy. Thank you Amber. I like this Amber-blogs business. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. krislinatin
    Aug 09, 2008 @ 21:51:35

    http://theshackreview.com/
    i like this site for a review of the book.

    Reply

  7. Nicole
    Aug 10, 2008 @ 07:38:45

    Thank you!

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Musings on ā€¦.. The Shack « Musings of a Home Engineer

Leave a Reply

