lest I be misunderstood.

I am an INFJ. Just google it. I love personality type pages – and find the Myers-Briggs method to be extremely accurate. Take note though:

“While instinctively courting the personal and organizational demands continually made upon them by others, at intervals INFJs will suddenly withdraw into themselves, sometimes shutting out even their intimates. This apparent paradox is a necessary escape valve for them, providing both time to rebuild their depleted resources and a filter to prevent the emotional overload to which they are so susceptible as inherent “givers.” As a pattern of behavior, it is perhaps the most confusing aspect of the enigmatic INFJ character to outsiders, and hence the most often misunderstood — particularly by those who have little experience with this rare type.”

Maybe it sounds like I am trying to justify myself. I’m just letting you know I need some space right now, but I really am okay.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rey
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 19:58:15

    I can’t remember what I was. I think it was an E something.

    Reply

  2. Nicole
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 19:59:22

    no doubt.

    Reply

  3. Nicole
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 20:06:21

    Reply

  4. Steve Grove
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 00:49:55

    praying for you and your family.

    Reply

  5. Amber Valade-Chudy
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 13:39:28

    Hey Nikk,

    I came across your blog again and found this post. I read up on your type and took the test on the link you posted. I am an ENFP. It freaked me out how accurate it was.

    I found that it did give me some justification for why I am the way I am. I don’t think there is anything wrong with justifying yourself by explaining a little bit about your personality. It made a lot of sense to me.

    Thanks for the link, I found it very interesting. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. Jenn
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 20:52:30

    EIFJ- surprise, surprise. πŸ˜‰

    Still thinking of you and praying. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Nicole
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 23:28:59

    Thanks Jenn. No surprise for you either, eh Amber? πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. Amber
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 09:36:09

    It freaked me out. lol

    Reply

  9. laurelesser
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 10:53:38

    Ok so I had a thought – do our actions define our personality or does our personality dictate our actions?

    Reply

  10. {{strong.girl
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 13:36:07

    I have been thinking about that a lot today Lo. I think our personality defintes our actions. I read about my personality and was shocked to understand WHY I do some of the things that I do. It was reassuring and surprisingly acurate, so I think that we do things sometimes without knowing why, because our personality is what causes us to react the way we do.

    After all, we love people for their personalities, and therefore how they act. We spend time with people because we know that we will enjoy the way they act when we are together.

    At the same time, if we like someone for their actions, it means we like their personalities. But I think it all goes back to our personality defining our actions.

    Those are just my two cents.

    Reply

  11. {{strong.girl
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 00:15:56

    Hey Nikk – my link goes to some orange page at blogspot, not my real blog. It’s http://www.stonggirl.wordpress.com

    Wierd. I wonder how that got mixed up?

    Reply

  12. {{strong.girl
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 00:16:56

    Maybe that’s how – I can’t type.

    http://www.STRONGGIRL.wordpress.com

    Reply

  13. raquelamisto
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 23:49:53

    I’m ho-ome!
    …Better call me…

    And I don’t want to hear any INFJ excuses.

    Reply

  14. Nicole
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 15:00:36

    I love you.

    Reply

  15. Rachel
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 00:12:18

    there’s a great free resource at http://www.INFJ.com

    Reply

  16. Stacey
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 22:40:40

    INTJ – Not too surprising really.

    I am away next week but we really need to get together soon!

    I’m thinking of you and here if you need me, really!

    ~Stacey

    Reply

  17. Nicole
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 06:48:57

    Thanks Stacey! I got your card in the mail yesterday! Very much appreciated!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

