Home church

This is harder to write than I thought! I find myself in self-defence mode, and you have not even said anything yet! So, at this point, I will spare you the background details, and will go on to explain my vision (obviously not just my vision, it is just easier to explain that way)

We have been meeting for a few months now. Sunday mornings, into the afternoon, sometimes right up until the kids go to bed. My home is open to anyone who wants to participate. The “format” has varied week to week. Some weeks we watch a podcast together – Charles Price, Mark Driscoll or John Piper. This past week my sister shared a few quotes from the book she was reading, and we spent three hours talking about everything from martrydom to proof-texting and what the love of Christ in our hearts spurs us on to. Then food. We spent part of the afternoon at the park. And then more talking….

What brought us here was not just our last institutional church, and what we experienced there, although that naturally factors in; but is a culmination of experiences for us. Our desire with meeting in a home is to most effectively minister and meet the needs of one another. We long to be actively involved in one another’s lives each week, and to know what each person is going through. We strive to meet the needs of those around us who are struggling…. To be vulnerable and open. To be growing together.

Maybe it is easier to just field questions on this one… I’m open to talking – you really won’t offend me….

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Jun 20, 2008 @ 09:04:54

    I’m excited for you guys, Nic. We’ve been part of a very unconventional “small group”. The depth of conversation- the rawness and authenticity- is something I’ve never experienced before.

    Reply

  2. susan
    Jun 23, 2008 @ 07:25:30

    you already know what i think darling, and i was tempted to be silly and write: “you’re nuts!” or “i’ll be praying for you” (in that ‘tone’- you know the one!!) but perhaps i’ll just stick to….

    i love you and i am excited for the things you are learning. thank you for letting me learn some of them with you!

    su

    Reply

  3. Laurel Esser
    Jun 23, 2008 @ 13:30:36

    ummmm, I heard from someone that home churches don’t count.

    Reply

  4. Nicole
    Jun 23, 2008 @ 14:18:50

    lol. count for what?

    Reply

  5. Laurel Esser
    Jun 23, 2008 @ 14:52:26

    Yeah that’s what I asked – ok all sarcasm aside, I love having the home church thing. I’ve learned more in the past few months then I have in the past 5 years (ok maybe my increased attendance does have a little to do with that). I like not having a denomination and not feeling separated from other Christians. I love that when we discuss things we look to the scripture first. I have come up against a lot of questions regarding the teaching that we would be receiving – aside from the well known teaching of Piper etc – and although we have in our group someone I consider to be the smartest most well read person I’ve ever met – I have the say that God is bigger then man.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

