To the church at Ephesus

“I know your works, your toil and your patient endurance, and how you cannot bear with those who are evil, but have tested those who call themselves apostles and are not, and found them to be false. I know you are enduring patiently and bearing up for My name’s sake, and you have not grown weary. But I have this against you, that you have abandoned the love you had at first. Remember therefore from where you have fallen, repent, and do the works you did at first. If not, I will come to you and remove your lampstand from its place, unless you repent. Yet this you have: you hate the works of the Nicolaitans, which I also hate.” Revelation 2:2-6

This passage struck me, in light of Rick’s comment earlier this week, about feeling the need to “defend” God. A couple things that jump out at me in this text, is the fact that Jesus is pleased with the Ephesians testing of the spirits. As is He also glad that they hate the works of the Nicolaitans. So, “protecting” true doctrine is important.

But, this church was going to have their lampstand snuffed out, if they did not return to their first love. And, what I find so interesting about how one goes about returning to our love of Christ, is to repent. I think we have a lot of ideas of how we might get back to truly loving God – more time in prayer, more Bible reading. Joining another small group (that one’s for you Rick 🙂 ) or feeding the homeless at your nearest soup kitchen. Christ says “remember from where you have fallen, and repent.”

Returning to my love is done by repenting. I must remember that, no matter how much my heart burns for truth, no matter how much I despise truths that He also hates, if I have fallen away from my joy and delight in Him, and if I am out of love with my Savior, I am in danger of my lampstand being snuffed out. Love for Him starts with repenting for how far I have fallen away from my passionate love for Him. Repenting of how little my heart beats for Him. Repenting of doing things in my own strength….

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rick
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 19:26:26

    Thanks for the small group shout … 🙂

    Good stuff!!!

    Reply

  2. Laurel Esser
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 14:34:28

    you make my heart happy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

