Why it is never personal… for me…

I have never, to my best recollection, been offended when someone disagreed with my take on Scripture.

I had a recent two hour discussion that got pretty heated. Talking with friends after, some were offended for my sake because of how someone was talking to me. I had not even noticed. The beauty of the Bible is that it is not my truth, or your truth, but The Truth. I may not always be right, you may not always be right, but I firmly believe there is a right. And, I believe the Spirit desires for His children to know what is right. “If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.” James 1:5

If you second guessed my parenting style, I may be offended. If you questioned how my husband and I relate in our marriage, I may get my back up. But, you want to talk sovereignty of God, or His gender, if you want to discuss whether Genesis 1 is a literal six day account, if you want to discuss hell… then I really do not mind a little heat, or confrontation. God is Spirit, and we are to worship Him in spirit and in Truth. John 4:24, see also John 16:13 I want the truth, don’t you?

The beauty of the Bible is that it is not relative, but absolute. His truth is the same for you, as it is for me. I love that.

Leave a Reply

