A little thing.

A dear friend encouraged me to become involved in what is happening to the global church. I balked at the idea at first – mostly because ignorance is bliss. But, she keeps sending me books. Heavenly Man, Secret Believers. And links to websites, like voice of the martyrs.

I do not believe there is a quicker remedy for getting over ourselves and our small problems (and, whether we like it or not – cleaning up puke at 1 am is a small problem, and headaches are a small problem, and having too big of a house to clean is a small problem) is to realise what suffering and persecution actually look like.

I was blissfully unaware of the number of Christians beaten today for their faith. The number of people willing to die for their Savior. But, I was encouraged to see in the book Secret Believers, that those in prison are blessed to receive letters from Christians around the world. And, http://www.prisoneralert.com has wonderful resources to get these letters into the hands of those in chains for the gospel. The site includes printable versions of phrases that those suffering can receive…. It would be a small thing, in a week, to mail out a card, wouldn’t it? To get my kids involved? To pray for someone I will never meet in this lifetime, but undoubtably will in the next?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. raquelamisto
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 10:57:39

    What a good idea! I’m all over that link.

    Reply

  2. Nicole
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 14:56:18

    You should be – it is practically your idea. 🙂 I should have linked you – but I got lazy – will get to that later today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

