motherhood

I have been begging my best friend to borrow her copy of The Mission of Motherhood for some time now. I finally got it from her this weekend, and am feeling deeply blessed to be reading it. I have so many priorities in my life. I suppose, by definition of priorities, that seems a contradiction. But, it ALL seems important, all of the time. I struggle with placing my role as mommy in the right place. And, with seeing the significance of it sometimes…

This paragraph really stood out to me:

Choosing to be a servant-mother means willingly giving up myself, my expectations, and my time to the task of mothering – and choosing to believe that doing so is the best use of my time in that moment. It means that, by faith, I have already made a decision to make myself available in the routine tasks and myriad interruptions of daily life because I believe it is God’s will for me to serve my family through them. Making this choice ahead of time means that I will expect problems and needs to arise and be ready to deal with them in peace instead of impatience and resentment.

Being a servant never comes easy. And, I guess I never really thought of having this mentality towards my kids. I think of the gift of service, and think of visiting in a nursing home, or dropping a meal off to a friend. I think of mailing out cards, or babysitting. I don’t think of it in terms of making another ham and ketchup sandwich, or changing another diaper (I have changed diapers for 5.75 years solid now – I am so ready to be DONE!). I do not think of serving in terms of reading a book, or tying shoelaces. Perspective matters, does it not? The mundane seems less trivial, when I think of it in terms of opportunities to bless my family with serving them – and in turn teaching them the beauty of serving others.

I challenge you, not to view the basic, boring, trivial, tiring repetitive moments as something to just get through, but as opportunities to serve. And, that we might also view them as ultimately being done as heartily to the Lord.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. susan
    Jun 09, 2008 @ 18:27:08

    absolutely beautiful and timely for this tired, hot, impatient mommy of two-almost-three! 🙂

    thank you for the new inspiration!
    su

    Reply

  2. Nicole
    Jun 09, 2008 @ 19:11:46

    ah – you’re easy to inspire Susan – I have met few people more eager than you to always live a life that pleases Him!

    Reply

  3. laurelesser
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 19:21:48

    “Be confessors of Jesus Christ, and let each fulfl this duty in the situation in which God has placed him. Let the magistrate confess Christ in the council; let the mechanic confess him in the workshop; let the man of buisness confess him in hte midst of his occupations, let the labourer confess him in the field, let the mother of the family confess him in her house, let the soldier confess him under arms, let each one, whatever may be his situation, regard it as a holy place, in which he is called to confess the Lord.” — D’Aubigne —

    Reply

  4. laurelesser
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 19:22:03

    fantastic blog nikk!

    Reply

  5. unorthodoxology
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 01:23:58

    What a tough challenge. I’m a stay-at-home dad and those repetitive things are tough to view as opportunities for service. This reminds me a great deal of the view of Monastic Orders, who view their “trivial” or “repetitive” deeds — from washing dishes to gardening as deep spirituality, finding God through service in mundane tasks.

    Maybe I should get a brown robe when I’m dealing with a poopy diaper. Maybe it would help the task seem a bit more sanctified, rather than sanctimonious.

    And, then, if I get in brown bits on me, no one would notice. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Nicole
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 12:41:33

    Wow – a stay-at-home Dad! I have heard about you folks before! 🙂

    I think the monastics were right… We want to do those “deeply fulfilling” things – like see 200 people saved at our backyard bbq, or feed all the hugnry in our city… I think that Satan is thrilled we are so off-track in our thinking. God says to glorify Him “whether we eat, or drink, or whatever we do” and sometimes that feels like an impossible command. But there is hope in there as well! I CAN glorify God when I wash dishes! I CAN glorify God when I clean up lego, or do laundry, or change diapers! Praise Him, I do not have to be doing something HUGE to be doing it for Him!!!

    Let me know if you find one of those robes….
    How old are your/is your little one(s)?

    Reply

  7. unorthodoxology
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 15:13:42

    he is 9 mos. this is my reflection of that time. 🙂

    http://www.thereporter.com/perspectives/ci_9594319

    Reply

Leave a Reply

