Escaping?

What is it about us humans that allows us to pursue so many useless passions with such fervor?

I think so often, in the midst of escaping a bad day, or filling our moments, we are missing the opportunities to be useful, and productive, and joyful….

I have chased a number of timewasters. I got invited onto the Dr. Phil show 2 years ago, for my Halo 2 addiction. I have spent hours on Webkins, facebook, myspace, blog surfing, internet surfing. I have read so many unfulfilling novels. I have had beers in solitude, to avoid thinking about a bad day. I have wasted alot of thoughts in snowy months on motorcycle riding, when I was weeks and weeks away from getting on a bike. I have napped, out of boredom. Watched tv for entire evenings, for entire weeks. I have shopped, to avoid being a mommy at home…. Why?

Especially as a believer, why the need to escape? It is so contrary to how the Lord made us. He has given us talents, and abilities, and gifts. And I know that I squander them. And, ironically of course, the days that are full of meaning and purpose, where I have cleaned my house and read books to my kids, the days where I have focused on them and spent time on supper – those are the days that are most satisfying. I do not have to be saving the world to be within His will. But, I most definately ought to be not wasting the days that are before me.

“Only one life, twill soon be past, only what’s done for Christ will last.”

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. clearly
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 00:14:32

    if we could only learn to glorify God in the mundane things of life…

    Reply

  2. steve matlock
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 00:38:04

    Interesting how we hope to escape history by forgetting the warnings of history.

    Reply

  3. Nicole
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 09:08:31

    exactly Clearly – We really have to stop separating life into the categories of things we do for God (church, worship, etc) and things we just do because we have to…

    What was your connecting thought Steve, between what I said, and what you did? I would love for you to expand…

    Reply

  4. steve matlock
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 15:12:53

    It is all too easy to simply coast in life, especially in the super rich West. You have to really work at being a failure, and if you are moderately competent, you can just do day-to-day activities for all your life.

    It’s as if you’re a spectator at your own life – and life is not meant to be that.

    Surely there is more to life that just avoiding pain and seeking pleasure.

    There is a movie “Being There” which is I suppose a warning even in its humor: watch out that you do not think success in life means pulling a breath 12 times a minute.

    Reply

  5. Nicole
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 19:35:15

    Excellent expansion – thank you! I totally agree. So, what does a non-spectator life look like for you personally? If you striv for purpose, are you finding it? Where?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

