montage.

I have a Pittsburgh Steelers montage on my computer screen. I have an ICON sticker from off my motorcycle helmet on my craft stuff – because it makes me happy to think about riding. I have a hubby threatening to put on my van the “Corunna Wildcats” window decal I inherited when I signed my boys up for soccer. I have tried in the past to carry around in my purse pamphlets for Stampin’ Up that I sell, in the hopes that I can intice a stranger to be interested. I wear a pirate princess hat. And carry a pirate princess travel mug. I love my new Armani jacket. My new Calvin Klein jacket as well. (bargains, both of them). If I had a guitar, and decorated the case – you would know I love pirates, and tattoos, and motorcyles. My stamping and scrapbooking. My kids. My husband. Books.

Would you know I love my Savior?

I think this is what “to live is Christ, and to die is gain” looks like. I think it is what “hate the world, love Me” looks like. I think it is what “deny yourself daily, take up your cross and follow Me” looks like. I am tired of excusing myself for half-hearted living. For justifying my delight in chocolates and new shoes by calling them “blessings from the Lord.” My life is not so all-encompassingly caught up with the Lord that all other pleasures seem fleeting, and small. I rejoice in the wonder of STUFF.

That one would look at me, and know I love my Savior best is the most important. The rest, the montage that my life is made up of, ought to be so pale, so blurry in comparison….

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Raquelamisto
    May 20, 2008 @ 11:22:54

    it’s tough finding that middle ground. what, then, would your stickers say? ‘blessed with discernment’ or ‘God comes first with me’? I think that the truth is we see all of those things for what they truly are when we try and lather God on top of them. (reminds me of the ‘Testamints’ that are sold at Christian bookstores).

    Reply

  2. Steve Grove
    May 20, 2008 @ 12:27:49

    lol @ testamints…

    Listened to a speaker this morning. He reminded me that I didn’t choose God, He chose me. He already did all the work. He wants all of me, so He can use me, so He can be glorified through me.

    My actions and response then, is what determines if He can use me. If I am caught up with the “stuff”, I quench the Spirit and become merely religious. My fear is that I might, with inattention and distracted attention, become merely religious. It was the religious people that had the issues with Jesus – the “lost” people loved Him.

    I would rather have Jesus front and center, and experience the power of salvation. I am willing to give up my woodworking, my reputation, everything. I don’t deserve that stuff anyways – it is all because of grace. It can go as quickly as it came, and if that is what I was standing on I would fall fast and hard. But standing on Jesus, my footing is sure and eternal.

    Reply

  3. Steve Grove
    May 20, 2008 @ 12:30:55

    I guess the question is not about what you’re doing with stuff, but what are you doing with Jesus today?

    Reply

  4. Nicole
    May 20, 2008 @ 17:08:54

    Great thoughts…

    I guess I am thinking things through the stream of “do not love the world, or the things of the world.” What does that actually look like?

    Incidentally – I put a Jesus fish on my minivan today 🙂 Shoulda bought the mints…

    I think intent, right? Are these things we do, to profess our delight in our Lord, while also living, breathing a joy of Him in our daily actions? Or do we do these things, and buy mints, because we are scared to do anything else, or because we feel like “okay, I just ‘witnessed'”?

    Reply

  5. Steve Grove
    May 20, 2008 @ 20:29:29

    Do you know why it is a fish?

    What “it ” looks like is different for everyone. There are some general things common, but how you live out being sold out to God is different from how I live it out. I do know the older I get, the easier it seems to let the “stuff” go. I still do that stuff, but more speciffically as a regenerative down time from ministry stuff, rather than instead of. And when I do some of that stuff, I look for the opportunities to talk about Jesus.

    We had some neighbours over for a barbeque on Saturday. One family is catholic, the other irreligious. We talked about how we met as couples. Jesus will come into our conversations as we get to know each other better, because Jesus is important to me, is the biggest part of me.

    We also went and saw Phantom of the Opera on Mother’s day. Two ladies sat beside my wife and I, and by the time the show was over, they knew we were Christians and that I was a pastor. It came out pretty naturally; maybe we will see them at church some day.

    And yes, I agree it is about intent. I also pray for specific opportunites for God to use me and let me say something about Him.

    Reply

  6. Raquelamisto
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 10:23:07

    what happened to that old blogging thing??

    Reply

  7. Nicole
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 07:06:25

    I’m still here! I know – it has been forever… I have about 8 that are half done and unpublished, nothing is feeling right at the moment….. I think I might actually be home tomorrow, how ’bout then?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

