Tozer on questions.

I am currently reading Tozer’s mystery of the the Holy Spirit.  I am still early on in the book, but thought I would share this thought, as it pertains to where the church seems to be at these days.  Tozer died in 1963, so this was written at least 45 years ago…

When discussing what happened to the apostles at Pentecost, Tozer lists the following as one of the changes evidenced in their lives:

“Fourth, a clear sense of the reality of everything.  You noticed that in the four Gospels, they were asking questions and in the book of Acts, they were answering questions.  That is the difference between a Spirit-filled man and one that is not.  The man of God, the preacher that is not Spirit-filled makes a great deal, and one of his phrases is likely to be “and now let us ask ourselves this question.”  Have you ever heard this from the pulpit?  I have often wondered why the reverend wanted to ask himself a question.  Why didn’t he settle that at home before he came to church?  Always asking questions.  “And, now, what shall we say?”

Brother, God never put a preacher in the pulpit to ask questions; he put a preacher in the pulpit to answer questions.  He put him there with authority to stand up in the name of God to speak and answer questions.  Back in the Gospels, they were always asking questions. “Lord, shall it be?  Lord how shall it be?  Lord, who?  Lord, what?”  But when they got to the book of Acts, they began to answer questions.  And they stood with authority…..”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. clearly
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 09:57:27

    Wow. I knew I loved Tozer.

    I would make a distinction between what was happening at Pentecost via the Holy Spirit and what is happening in our lives. However, that aside, when the Spirit illumines, we are left with more answers than questions.

    I mean, there will always be those things that make us scratch our heads, but we must understand that we have EVERYTHING we need for life and godliness!

    Reply

  2. Raquelamisto
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 10:10:29

    REALLY good thoughts… never paid attention to that before but now that I think about it, he’s absolutely right. Questions in the gospels and answers thereafter. Really interesting!

    Other thought towards Clearly, When I finally get to the end of trying to answer all of those questions and worries myself (!) and when, in exhaustion, I finally let God have ’em (sounds something like this, ‘I can’t DO THIS anymore! Take it. I have no idea what I’m doing and I should have remembered that YOU do a long time ago), DANG it feels good!

    All of that to say that I think He brings questions but that the answer is usually wrapped up in how we are too human to understand his glory and have little confidence in His perfectness. Ya know?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

