I love it when…

I love it when I get goosebumps reading a passage.  Like this evening.  I was in Isaiah, and chapter 57 verse 15 calls God “the One who inhabits eternity” and says His name is Holy.  The One who inhabits eternity?  How beautiful is that! 

The dictionary definition of inhabits is to “occupy as a place of settled residence or habitat”.  The original Hebrew includes the words abide and tabernacle.  God abides in eternity.  His settled place of residency is eternity.  Where is God located?  Eternity.  I love it!

And, His name is Holy. 

The rest of the verse, of this Great and Awesome God that we are so humbled to worship, is about where He dwells.  He dwells in the high and holy place.  And, He dwells with him who is of a contrite (crushed or broken in the Hebrew) and lowly spirit.  Why?  To revive the spirit of the lowly.  And to revive the heart of the contrite.

Do you see?  In my brokenness, in my most crushed days, He, who inhabits eternity, desires to dwell in my heart, that He might revive me!!!  Do you have goosebumps?  So often, we wonder what we have done to displease Him.  We question Him.  We ask “why, dear God?”  And He answers – He wants to revive us.  Such sweet, sweet holy condescention!  His name is Holy itself, and He wants to sustain us.  He wants to heal us. 

I feel so inept with words right now.  There is no possible way to truly put to paper that feeling of being held under the wing of the God of the universe.  The curious thing that happens too – is that in His presence, I see not myself being loved, but Him being praised…. I can feel safe, and pleasantly suffocated by His Spirit, and delight in the moment – and find my heart just drawn to Him.  It makes me want to praise Him.  It makes me want to weep, that He would save me.  It makes me want to depart, and be with Him – to kiss His nail-scarred feet, and cry like Mary, and wipe His feet with my tears….  Is He not wonderful, counselor, the mighty God, the everlasting Father, the Prince of Peace?!?!?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Steve Grove
    May 08, 2008 @ 14:26:58

    It’s been awhile since I have checked your blog. I see you are going through a pretty intense time of seeking and understanding who you are before the Lord God, the Creator of the ends of the earth.
    The fires of the refinery are hot and uncomfortable. Stay true to your search, for God has promised he will be found. I will pray for you, and you’ll have to excuse me if I put you on my list…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

