called.

I am listening to Driscoll today, talking about the Ox – the man called of God to be an elder, or a leader.  And it made me think “What am I called to do?”  I think about the verse 1 Corinthians 7:17 “Only let each person lead the life that the Lord has assigned to him, and to which God has called him.” 

So then.  We all, as believers, have a calling.  What’s mine?  Is this something to search for, a path to walk on, a voice to obey?  Jonah was called.  And he disobeyed.  Is some of my daily disobedience (ie. wasting time in front of the tv when I ought to be in the Word) a neglecting of my calling?

What if I took terms like “bondservant of Christ” more seriously?  What if I “ran the race with endurace” as though I were seeking a prize?

Laurel, you are chastising me already, aren’t you?  I have to ask the obvious, the rhetorical, for I feel unqualified to actually exhort. 

I am scared, actually.  Quite nervous.  Mostly because I sense a calling, and a role to fulfill, and feel inadequate.  I sense the Lord prompting me in certain directions, and, shame on me, but I can not help but listen to the other voices over His.  I am eager to listen, and yet feel woefully misunderstood. 

So.  Where does that leave me?  Can I say “called to motherhood.  called to be a wife.” and leave it there?  What if my burden is bigger?

I told a friend I feel directionless.   The truth is, I think there is much direction to be had, if I would but listen, and pray, and act. 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Raquel
    Mar 27, 2008 @ 10:24:13

    It seems to me that the

    passionate desire + urge to please God = a hungry and action oriented Christian

    I’m not sure that you’re supposed to have the answer, Nic. I mean, the pursuit of the answer is what the answer is all about, afterall. Right? That’s where the answer is found.

    I think what you’re going through is awesome and it sho’ looks like fruit to me 😉

    Reply

  2. Jenn
    Mar 27, 2008 @ 16:48:41

    I think sometimes we can “under rate” ourselves, as “everyday” Christians. Like we aren’t doing something big so is it enough? Really, though, He can place us in divine appointments that take place with another mom over coffee during a playdate or connecting with someone doing mundane errand running (or not so mundane, if the kids are with you 😉 )
    I totally identify with how you’ve been feeling lately. Press on, friend. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Nicole
    Mar 27, 2008 @ 19:55:09

    Thank you both for the encouraging words!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

