I’m surrounded by the old ego-ic consciousness, who knew?

Apparently, according to Oprah and Tolle, I have not awakened yet.

I have noticed for a few weeks now, that everytime I try to download a new Driscoll message or Piper sermon, there is Oprah in the religion & spirituality category of the podcasts.  So, having heard a snippet of a quote from a friend this morning, I thought I would download the first podcast on the series “A new Earth.”  I must admit, my curiosity is further piqued, when I learn that some 500,000 people tuned in to the show via internet on Monday – the largest gathering of people over the internet, ever.  Wow. 

A slight disclaimer – when you know that truth is wacky, and heretical, it is not a great idea to get too absorbed in it.  I know that I need to balance even my EC reading with something more edifying.  Satan loves to use snippets that present themselves as truth, that get stuck in your head, that lead you, slowly drifting down a river with a waterfall at the end…  I do not intend to listen to every podcast, they just are not worth the energy, nor worth getting wrong thoughts lodged in my head.

Oprah is calmly assuring the people calling in that we can mix this new form of spirituality with Christianity.  She is telling people to get on their knees and ask god (for he is not the God I worship) what they should do.  She calls it god, Tolle prefers the term “consciousness.”

Oprah describes herself as “a christian who believes that there are certainly many more paths that lead to God than Christianity…. I’m a freethinking christian.”  Not to be confused with Jesus’ saying “I am the Way, the Truth and the Life, no one comes to the Father but by Me.”

Both Tolle and Oprah talk about the Bible, about reading it, and about reconciling its truths with new age, and with consciousness and with books that are channelled and inspired.  Nature, especially flowers, are access points to our inner selves – according  even Jesus knew that when He told us to look at the lilies of the valley. 

Oprah talks about the fact that “Jesus was a revolutionary.”  Yikes – that sounds familiar…. 

What an overwhelming audience this pair has.  How sad, to lull people into the safety net of thinking there is EVER a Jesus/and/or = access to God.  He is the only way to the Father.  Alone.  We can not add new age (for it is of the devil) nor accept that there are any other roads but that of the substitutionary act of His dying in our stead….

I suppose the encouraging thing for me, in all of this, is that there are SO many people who are eager for depth.  Oh, that they would not turn to sitting quiet in a room and sharing the universal force with others, but that they might find their peace in the blood shed for their sins.  And, that I might recognise that need for fullfilment, and share the Good News….

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. krislinatin
    Mar 21, 2008 @ 23:15:07

    ”Oprah is calmly assuring the people calling in that we can mix this new form of spirituality with Christianity.”

    Oprah is dangerous

    Reply

  2. Raquel
    Mar 22, 2008 @ 12:00:02

    So I’m wondering… what is so dang appealing? Why are people attracted to liars and thieves? I just don’t get it.

    Reply

  3. susan
    Mar 24, 2008 @ 15:31:55

    hey Nikk great piece. isn’t amazing that people buy into it all?

    thanks for keeping our brains working!!! 🙂
    su

    Reply

  4. Nicole
    Mar 24, 2008 @ 19:24:44

    Thanks for the encouragement girls!

    Reply

  5. LeAnn
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 22:12:25

    Great post on this. I’ve just started to do some digging on this topic. I’m about half-way into the 2nd chapter of the book and already he is misinterpreting Jesus. My hope is that all these searchers see the emptiness of this new (really not so new) teaching and continue their search until they find the truth.

    Reply

  6. LeAnn
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 22:13:21

    BTW, I just noticed the verse at the top of your blog. Take a look at this promo video from YouTube – especially the last frame:

    Reply

  7. Nicole
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 06:46:58

    thanks LeAnn! I will have to check the video out a little later, my kids are using the speakers to watch tv…

    Reply

  8. beyondfaith
    May 13, 2008 @ 09:31:04

    I am also watching Oprah very closely on my blog: http://beyondfaith.wordpress.com. And on today’s Oprah we will learn how to mass hypnotize the audience and regress into our past lives!

    Yes, very Christian indeed….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

