forgiven… forgive.

23 “Therefore the kingdom of heaven may be compared to a king who wished to settle accounts with his servants.  24 When he began to settle, one was brought to him who owed him ten thousand talents.  25 And since he could not pay, his master ordered him to be sold, with his wife and children and all that he had, and payment to be made. 26 So the servant fell on his knees, imploring him, ‘Have patience with me, and I will pay you everything.’ 27 And out of pity for him, the master of that servant released him and forgave him the debt. 28 But when that same servant went out, he found one of his fellow servants who owed him a hundred denarii, and seizing him, he began to choke him, saying, ‘Pay what you owe.’ 29 So his fellow servant fell down and pleaded with him, ‘Have patience with me, and I will pay you.’ 30 He refused and went and put him in prison until he should pay the debt. 31 When his fellow servants saw what had taken place, they were greatly distressed, and they went and reported to their master all that had taken place. 32 Then his master summoned him and said to him, ‘You wicked servant! I forgave you all that debt because you pleaded with me. 33 And should not you have had mercy on your fellow servant, as I had mercy on you?’ 34 And in anger his master delivered him to the jailers, until he should pay all his debt. 35 So also my heavenly Father will do to every one of you, if you do not forgive your brother from your heart.”  

Matthew 18:23-35

Tomorrow is Good Friday.  And, even as I type, in my tired state, I think on the Lord, who was at this time, some 2000 years ago, sweating drops of blood over the next days’ events.  And I thought of the above passage.  I thought of what His work on the cross has accomplished for me.  Salvation.  I can one day stand faultless before the throne of the great I Am – because His perfect Son became man, lived a sinless life, and died for my sins.  My sins were nailed to the cross.  He agonized in the garden for the stupid words that fall out of my mouth.  He agonized on the cross for the lies I have told, for the gossip I have partaken in.  For all the times I have snapped at my kids, or been impatient with the slow driver in front of me.  He had nails driven into His hands for the times I have been angry with my husband.  And, He died in my place for all the other things in my life I worship, when I ought to bow in fear and trembling at His feet….

Who, who am I, to hold anything against anyone else?  Who am I, to be angry with a harsh word, insensitivity, thoughtlessness towards me?  Who am I, to take the things someone says, and cling to them in despair and bitterness and anger?  Who am I, dear God, but the wicked servant?  Oh, that I could forgive but one grievance against me with the patience and love that Jesus Christ bore all of mine!  God forgive my pettiness, my sense of fairness, my sense of any entitlement in this world.  For, what are the $5000 owed me, compared to the $3 BILLION dollars my Lord forgave me?  (These are the estimated numbers on the amounts given in the text)

Ah Lord, may I see my sins for what they are – a travesty against You, that You bore for me.  And, may I see the wrongs against me for what they are – petty, dear God…. so very, very small.  Thank You – for Your saving grace on the cross.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. William
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 12:16:04

    I like very much what you wrote. It is the essence of what makes us differant from the world (grudges, bitternes)in our relationships…or at least it should be.

    The passage just before that contains the ONLY teaching andcommands Jesus ever gave concerning how th elocal church is to function. Nothing else. yet Matt. 18:15-22 is the only passage that all churches today ignore.I have never come across a church yet, including the ones I pastored, willing to carry out this command and processs. Ask yourself, are there Christians in virtually every church who get upset and refuse to be reconciled? Yes?Are the ever, afetr the church follows the commands of Christ in Matt. 18:15-22, excommunicated? No? Why is that? Could be why so many churches are in crisis and over 50% of pastors leave the “pastoral” ministry to serve God in other ways.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

