Hagios.

They make a saint of you, so they do not have to live like you.

The difference, dear friend, between you and everyone else around you is obedience.  We both know that God, in His great mercy, is delighting to do some awesome things in your life.  But I do not doubt for a moment that He desires to so work in all of our lazy hearts. 

We elevate some to sainthood.  And, to be honest, I think it really is just letting ourselves off the hook.  To be sure, many “saints” were misguided – by penance, and salvation by works – but the point being – we all should so live a life of servanthood.  And we choose not to.

“You are so awesome!  I could not do what you have done!  Wow… what an amazing person you are!”  They are right, they really are.  But not because of anything in you – save the Spirit.  How my heart yearns for your lifestyle to be the norm for all of us!  The walk you walk should be the same as that of every believer.  A close communion with our Savior, and a dying to self should not so surprise us….. 

I am so insanely blessed for having you in my life.  I long for eternity.  I want to sit and chill with you and C.S. Lewis.  While Laurel brews beer with Beth Luther.  (BFF 🙂  Do you know how much you have impacted me?  But, not because you accomplish the great, the awesome – but because God uses you, and you are Spirit led.  I need that.  I am not making a saint of you (anymore than believers are all saints – set apart) – let none of us boast, save in the cross.  But, God’s grace shines through you.  I want what you have got.  And, I know it is so very close – as close as a prayer on my knees.  As close as my Bible, if I would but open it.  As close as waking up in the morning, and saying “I am a servant to the King.  This is Your life.  Use me Lord.”

Saint Raquel.  I know your mansion will be bigger than mine.  And how I can not wait for that day – I want to cheer the loudest when He places a crown on your head and says “Well done, my good and faithful servant.  Enter into My presence.”

Thank you for inspiring me.  Not to do more, be more.  But to live in His presence more.  To seek His face more.  To be more obedient.  To trust Him more.  To risk more.  To love more…… 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. clearly
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 09:43:59

    “They make a saint of you, so they do not have to live like you.”

    My wife and I read that and both said, “ouch.”

    A powerful phrase indeed.

    I don’t know Raquel that well, but what I do know is all good.

    Reply

  2. Nicole
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 13:27:19

    I love that you can say “my wife and I…” 🙂 The joys of being married!

    Reply

  3. Raquel
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 14:23:25

    I’m all teary! I love you too, chica. I’m smiling now, though, hoping that I too can be that cool ;P

    I believe that God is so much bigger than we give Him credit for… He’s so much more within us that we will ever tap into. I too pray that He will consume me and that my life isn’t led by my will but His.

    love you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

