Who do you think you are?

So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed in him, “If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” John 8:31, 32

Ignorance is bliss.

Do you ever feel that way?  I am young… and am increasingly surprised at the climate in our churches.  Sometimes I wish I could return to a time when I knew less about people, when it seemed less complicated to be a Christian. I grew up in an Amazing home environment. My parents viewed themselves as primarily responsible for our spiritual growth, in a dual sense. They thought it of utmost importance, and they thought they were the ones responsible to teach us. I was expected to do a half-hour of “homework” a night in my teen years – on Bible based truths. Whether it was my Dad’s worldview workbook, or Union with Christ workbook. Whether it was talking about Hebrews, or memorizing Romans 12… But it never occured to me until recently that my heritage is peculiar, not soley because most Christian teens were not raised it that environment, but that it is also peculiar for an “average” Christian to assume they can get a handle on the truth of the Word.

Lately I have been getting the impression that the Holy Spirit comes with an M.Div.

I was at the local Christian bookstore, and ran into someone I knew there, that was shopping for their church library.  I was paying for my books and heard this woman request a copy of The Shack.  If you have read my blog before, you know my thoughts on this book.  So, in front of all four women that were working, I said “The Shack?!  You don’t want to by that!”  One of the ladies working asked me why not.  And I explained that the book was full of really bad theology.  To which she asked me if I was a critic, and walked away.  The other three women were pretty quiet at this point, and I proceeded to write down my blog address, so that the person shopping could skim what I had thought of the book, as well as to see some of the quotes from it that I had found of most importance. 

The overall response was “Um… who do you think you are?”  And, this coincides well with my being asked recently what authority I think I have to interpret Scripture/come to my own conclusions about the Bible.

Authority?  Are you a critic?  Such bizarre questions…. I feel like I am back in the 1500’s – when man needed the pope to tell him what to think.  Can I not come to the Bible, and my books, and read, and come to conclusions on my own?

There are few things that have grieved me more lately than to feel that truth, according to those around me, is somehow beyond my grasp…. 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Raquel
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 23:50:06

    …or at least the truth that they don’t agree with, eh?

    Reply

  2. Nicole
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 10:02:11

    listen girl – we need to talk! call me later!!!!

    Reply

  3. clearly
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 15:58:19

    I find myself doing that in Christian bookstores often…well, as often as i go to them atually

    Reply

  4. Stacey
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 16:45:56

    “Ignorance is Bliss”, that is a title I have been wanting to use for my blog for about a week now but havent been able to get it all sorted out in my head yet.

    You know my thoughts on this and how angry I also get by it. I loved growing up thinking I could be anything and do anything that I wanted to do. Then highschool knocked me down a peg then university and no everytime I go into a computer store.

    Sad thing is that even when you stand up for yourself and show that you do know what you are talking about and are an authority on the subject, most of the time you are just wasting your time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

