Moved with Compassion

Now when Jesus heard this, he withdrew from there in a boat to a desolate place by himself. But when the crowds heard it, they followed him on foot from the towns. When he went ashore he saw a great crowd, and he had compassion on them and healed their sick.    Matthew 14:13,14

 

Jesus just heard the news about the beheading of His cousin, John the Baptist.  And, it appears, He wants to grieve alone.  But the multitudes followed Him.  And so, in great love, He sets aside His human need for solace, and I assume prayer, to heal those around Him.

I love this passage.  It is an amazing display of His goodness to all of us.  It is also an example of what I want for my own life. 

I get weary.  Don’t we all?  I feel overwhelmed at times – life is busy.  And I want to retreat.  Sometimes I feel this desperate need to retreat.  But something else seems to come up.  I do not want to just do it anyways – whatever that “it” may be.  I do not want to help, or listen, or cook, or….  because I have to.  I want, and I ask of God, to so move me with a love and compassion for those around me, that I can lay aside my own needs for recoup time, for their needs. 

I think one of the biggest life lessons I am learning right now is that everyone around me feels that in some way they are bearing more than they can bear.  You might be surprised at how much people keep to themselves.  But, like the kleenex commercials reveal – people need a soft place to land, a safe listening ear.  I want to be that.  And, I want to be good at that, and energized for that, because I am in love with the people around me.  Did you know those kleenex commercials have a website?  www.letitout.com – people post and post all of these sticky notes about what hurts right now.  Because we all need to let it out….

I don’t know what to say – to people losing mothers and brothers.  To people facing separation, and the loss of home stability.  I don’t know what to say to someone with a baby and a baby and a baby.  I don’t know what to say to someone who feels disillusioned with life, and the people around them.  I don’t know what to say to someone who is sick and trying for that new family member.  I don’t know what to say to someone who feels like they have been betrayed.  I don’t know what to say to you…… 

But I know how to listen.  I have broad shoulders.  And I love you.  Oh, not with the love of my Savior, but I am trying!  Moved with compassion… I want that.  I crave that.  I know it is the only way to truly put your needs above my own, in a way that glorifies God.

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike
    Feb 26, 2008 @ 16:44:58

    Nicole, thanks!

    With compassion,
    Mike

    Reply

  2. susan
    Feb 28, 2008 @ 20:02:52

    inspiring and honest and real.
    as usual. 🙂
    i love you friend,
    from su

    Reply

  3. clearly
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 12:34:36

    a spiritual leader, puts his struggle-trial-hurts aside for a moment, and ministers to those in need

    well said, verity

    Reply

  4. Nicole
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 08:22:18

    Thanks Mike and Susan….

    Thanks Clearly.

    I was wondering why the “spiritual leader” bit… but I see it ties in with where you are at right now too – loved your post on Samson – good to see you blogging again!

    Reply

  5. clearly
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 15:55:01

    i never know if i will have time to blog…life is so busy and the wife and i don’t have internet at our new apartment…

    i actually got to preach this morning…samson was the text.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

