sleeping for sorrow.

And when He rose from prayer, He came to the disciples and found them sleeping for sorrow, and He said to them, “Why are you sleeping?  Rise and pray that you may not enter into temptation.”  Luke 22:45,46

 

This verse really stood out to me this week.  I think in part because, with all that is going on in my life these days, I did exactly what the disciples did – I slept for sorrow.  I realise there is no comparison to what they were experiencing, and what I experience; but the concept is the same.  I napped on Monday for no other reason than I felt overwhelmingly incapable of dealing with life.  I got over the feeling – but through prayer.  And, Jesus is telling His disciples the same thing.

I always assumed they just got too tired.  And that never made sense to me.  I thought they did not get the importance of the situation, or they just did not care enough.  But sleeping for sorrow?  It was like this group depression.  It was how they all chose to cope with their grief.

And Jesus did not just say “That’s okay.  You’re human.  I understand.”  No.  He goes to Peter, and chastises him: “So, could you not watch with Me on hour?”  (Mark account)

And, I must imagine Him saying the same to me.  Perhaps differently:  “Come to Me, all you who are weary and heavy leaden, and I will give you rest.”  I must, must fight the urge to nap off my sorrows, and turn in prayer to Him who loves me so deliciously, and trust Him to strengthen and renew my spirit. 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeromy
    Feb 14, 2008 @ 11:35:05

    “…Him who loves me so deliciously…” great choice of words. Sometimes caving up in bed feels so good. Thanks for sharing your heart. One time in college I felt so overwhelmed that I spent the entire day in bed in my dorm room…can you imagine what my roommate must of thought?

    Reply

  2. inspiredbrio
    Feb 14, 2008 @ 22:05:55

    That really was inspiring.
    Love your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

