Proverbs 31

I asked my Mom today if Proverbs 31 is a biography – like:  week one – go to market, week two – make robes, week three – get up before dawn…..  🙂  

I can’t do it.  I tried to do it all last week, and took off to Simcoe in an overwhelmed state… Brad did not understand why I had been in a funk for four days, and frankly, neither did I.  I felt a little divided, and needed to escape.  It is like Jenn’s first blog… where you have all these great ideas on how to save the day – but your family is eating macaroni (again), your husband is starting to feel like he Had a wife, and you know that if you drop anything on the kitchen floor, the five second rule should not be applied – it’s just not safe.

I still have Christmas wrapping paper in my dining room.  I don’t think I have figured out supper for my family two nights in a row, that doesn’t involve frozen combos (we do a pick two + veggie at my house – kind of a mix’n’match of onion rings, sidekicks, french fries, fish, chicken strips)  and sometimes hubby rejects veggies….

I don’t even find time to shop to de-stress.  This is good.  I find too much time to blog to de-stress.  And lately, even that hasn’t been as edifying as I would like.  So – what now?  How do I juggle it all?  The “all” isn’t even that much….  I just wish I were up for more.  Maybe I need to condition myself – like an athlete.  Only one good deed a week for someone else for the first three weeks, then step it up to two, and so on…. I tried telling Brad I wanted to mail out cards each week to people, once life was in order, and he laughed at me…. He knows – it never will be.  I won’t ever have four cups lined up in the cupboard, with a tidy back room downstairs.  I can not resist the idea of shoving things in the wrong spot, simply to not have to look at them.  I will never be caught up on laundry for more than 3 days in a row – much less always doing a load a day…

What matters?  As a housewife/ mother/ StampinUpDemonstrator/ childofGod/ friend/ everything else – how do I make the best decision for each day?  Why is all I am going to get done tomorrow a trip to the dentist, and a run to the States for my Roethlisberger jersey?  Are my standards too low?  Too high?  Will God look at these days, and say… “You could have… you could have…. it’s covered by My blood – but look at what you missed.”?  “Your daughter needed you to cuddle today.  Your husband needed you to affirm him today.  I needed you to be my voice today.  My hands today.  My heart today.  And you were…. _______________  (riding a bike, getting tattooed, reading a novel, shopping, surfing the net….)”

I want to pour myself out – like Isaiah talks about.  I just don’t know how to do that. 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Jan 21, 2008 @ 23:01:40

    He is there in the little and the big moments. The conversation you have with the dental hygienist might be just what she needs to hear. It is a hard balance though, trying to figure out what is our agenda and what is His.

    Reply

  2. laurelesser
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 09:28:50

    Oh Nikk, do I even have to write it or do you already know what I’m going to say? Your focus is on the wrong thing, your focusing on trying to figure out what God wants you to do, when all you need to do is focus on Him. The rest falls into place. I have a few great Luther quotes that I’ll post later (I don’t have the book with me right now).

    Reply

  3. laurelesser
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 09:29:13

    ps. i luv you 🙂

    Reply

  4. Nicole
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 09:43:50

    thank you both for the reminders.

    and Heather, for verbally chastising me over this one yesterday.

    Reply

  5. carol chudy
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 15:58:44

    I keep wanting to write that book on the Proverbs 31 woman! I have lots of notes, because she has been my role model since I was first saved.

    I will share a couple of quick thoughts here though that you might find encouraging.

    1. The word used for “virtuous” was also used to describe Ruth, but its root is the same as the word for valour – courage, as used for Joshua. She is a woman of strength.

    2. Take heart – you younger women – note that she has children who are old enough to “rise up and call her blessed” We are in process and that takes time. It should be that we become more holy and full of grace as time goes on.

    3. It is interesting that the proverb talks in terms of relationship – her with her husband, children, the poor, her servants – but only one reference to her relationship with the Lord. But that one phrase says it all. “A woman who fears the Lord shall be praised.” Everything she does and is comes from a heart of reverence for God. Her desire to be found pleasing in His sight is the motivator for all that she does for others.

    Reply

  6. susan
    Feb 02, 2008 @ 20:12:07

    that was beautiful Carol.

    we should do a study on what you know of prov. 31

    su

    Reply

Leave a Reply

