Specific words

I went to bed last night, and did that “Lord, show me what I need to learn tonight” kinda prayer – as I cracked my Bible open to I did-not-know-where.  I was leaning towards the back of it, not realising it was upside down…. Now, I believe this sort of thing can be very “profitable” (for lack of a better word) spiritually.  I also agree with my Dad, it can become gimmicky – His Word is alive and active, sharper than a two-edged sword, piercing between joint and marrow – and it is all useful.  But today I wanted a word that I knew was from Him….  Here’s what I got:

1 Kings 11:1-8  Solomon turns from the Lord

Did you remember that was in there?  Solomon, who prayed for wisdom, who was the richest and wisest king to walk this earth, who was raised up by the man who had a heart after God, turned away?  How?  Clearly, no amount of wisdom is enough to continue in our walk with Him.  Clearly, it cannot keep us on the path, if there are distractions.  And Solomon had 1000.  Literally.  He took 700 wives, and 300 concubines from other countries.  He directly disobeyed the Lord in this – and his heart was swayed. 

He even built a “high place” for Chemosh the moabite god.  These women led him astray – and this chapter does not end with his reconciliation to the Lord, but with his destruction.

So – what is this to me, today?  I am obviously not in danger of taking 1000 spouses… but are there not as many distractions, that lead my own heart away, from the heart of God?

I am mindful of my friendships – all those times I could be praying, and communing with God, that I spend on the phone instead (in and of itself, not so bad – but it is a poor substitution when I know I should be meditating on Him)…. all the things of this world that charm me most – RockBand, stamping, motorcycles (just because there is a foot of snow on the ground, doesn’t mean I’m not thinking about them)… movies… football (that’s new)… all the things I am loving more than God…..

Was Solomon saved?  Does the end of his life negate the majority of it?  Did he know God, as his father David did, or did he merely know of Him?  It is sobering, is it not?  And so, today, I must fix my eyes on Jesus, the author and perfector of my faith, ignore the distractions, and delight in my Savior.

Leave a Reply

