Prayer

A couple of things are combining in my head to lead to this blog.

Firstly – Laurel.  You know it is like that talk we had in my kitchen this week – about positive motivation…. And then, in my blog, you talked about how you know when I have been praying for you…. and I felt so chastened by the Holy Spirit, and your words – for I am hardly the prayer warrior you made me out to be.  But I want to be.

Secondly – And I had to pick up Nehemiah this morning Raquel.  And Nehemiah’s heart is so beautiful.  I love that chapter one is this prayer that basically says “God, You are great, and You promised.  You said You would do this – be faithful to us.”  Nehemiah talks about pleading day and night.  And then, when in the presence of the king, the king asks him what he wants which is followed by “So I prayed in my heart…”  He does not take this next step without petitioning the Lord yet again.  And neither should we. 

I am incredibly weak in my prayer life.  I want to grow stronger.  This is one of those things I feel convicted about on a somewhat cyclical basis.  Ravenhill, in Why Revival Tarries, has some great things to say on prayer: 

“By our attitude to prayer we tell God that what was begun in the Spirit we can finish in the flesh.”  pg 21

“We have not yet resited unto blood in prayer; nay, we “do not even get a sweat on our souls,” as Luther put it.  We pray with a “take-it-or-leave-it” attitude; we pray chance prayers; we offer taht which costs us nothing!  We have not even “strong desire.”  We rather are fitful, moody, and spasmodic.”  pg 61

 I do not want to be too busy to earnestly pray anymore…..  I trust you are with me (or way ahead of me!) on this one……

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. susan
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 15:39:39

    so true.
    i was convicted of my lack of prayer-bible-reading time just this week. ah. starting fresh again….

    and hey, i’m still waiting on that worst attribute blog…. when is it coming?? 🙂 i’m on pins and needles over here…

    haha.
    love you.
    su

    Reply

  2. Nicole
    Dec 15, 2007 @ 07:38:38

    You know what Susan? I mentally tried – and I could not come up with anything. How cool is that? It is not that you guys do not sin – it is just that your flaws do not jump out to me… such a God thing.

    Reply

  3. susan
    Dec 16, 2007 @ 07:04:01

    oooooooooh you just haven’t spent enough time with me. 🙂
    hahaha.

    no really. that’s awesome. Praise God! 🙂

    snowed in! yikes! have a great day in the fluffies!
    su

    Reply

  4. susan
    Dec 17, 2007 @ 20:57:36

    hey girl, call ya tomorrow. i’m totally exhausted and can’t come scrapbooking tonight. thank you though. and like i said, do keep trying me. one of these days i’ll make it! i’ve just been hibernating lately. my body has gone into winterdarkness mode.

    love you friend.
    su

    Reply

Leave a Reply

