Friends and Family….

To those beautiful people in my life: 

I did this once before on my old blog, but I feel compelled this morning to add a new post.  Funny, in re-reading that, that the things I love about people are different at different times… And, I will name names.

Heather – I know you are reading this.  Merry Christmas my friend.  I love you.  My constant lurker – I thank God you share your heart with me later.  : )   You are a GREAT Mommy.  You have a ton of patience, even when your kids are crazy sick, and you feel overwhelmed.  You put their needs ahead of your own.  You listen, and listen and listen…..

Susan – hugs to you!  I can not help thinking back to two weeks ago – we come back from a shopping trip, and your husband asks if you spent money.  You say yes, and he says “Good girl”.  You have to be Told to spend money.  You are forever giving – of your time, and money, and heart.  Thank you for being an example of good stewardship – you are forever quietly serving.

Laurel – Why do I get emotional when I think of you?  You are so many wonderful things I am not.  You are my reminder to not be rash.  Do not make a forever decision today – doors can stay open for a while, and that’s okay.  Closure is not a necessary part of life.  I love your heart.  Your passion (Chudy prerequisite, is it not?), and stories, and thrill at life are contagious.

Mom – Commitment, passion, drive.  A wealth of spiritual knowledge you are willing to share with biological daughters, and spiritual daughters.  You put your everything into everything.  You raised me in an environment where God came first – I am spoiled with the upbringing I had.  You view Judah and Levi and Trinity as “not your kids, but MY Grandkids” – as though that somehow gives you the right to spoil them : ) 

Raquel – You Chica, have taught me already the value of being vulnerable with a complete stranger.  You love your Savior, and your heart for the lost is bigger than any I have ever seen.  You are honest, and open, and transparent -I don’t know how you do that.  And, you too are a good Mommy.

Brad – I love that you are warming up to hearing my blog thoughts – you are passionate about God and His glory.  You treasure His Word – and lead this home by setting an example of devotion, and commitment.  You can be exhausted from a day at work, and still walk into the kitchen to stir the pot of spaghetti…  You are a hero to your boys, and your daughter…

I thank God for you!!!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laurel Esser
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 13:02:24

    Nikk – ok your turn, I totally admire your love for truth and thirst for knowledge. There are not enough people who are willing to spend as much time as you do to read and learn. I can often tell when you’ve been praying for me, you constantly challange me to have the depth of Spiritual life that you have right now. Despite your aversion to argueing you’ve stepped out of your own comfort zone time and again to stand up for the truth. You are the most amazing mother and wife ever. Your totally dedicated to your family and to taking care of us. You always make coffee for me and never act as if it were a chore. You encourage me out of stressful times and make sure that I don’t stay a hermit. You challenge the rationalizations I’ve put in place for my sins and encourage me to be a better person. Your hospitible and have people over whenever, you take meals to people, help clean their houses and do thier laundry 🙂 You are the bestest sister in the world!!!

    Reply

  2. Nicole
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 13:20:38

    frig Laurel – I didn’t want anything like that. Wow – thank you – I feel humbled, and encouraged.

    And, for the record – I think YOU are the best sister ever….

    Reply

  3. susan
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 15:12:57

    aw. thank you Nikk.i had a GREAT time shopping with you by the way!! 🙂 want to help me find a funky dress and hat next time??

    you are really inspirational you know that? i just heard a sermon on Rejoicing in the Lord, and i rejoice that He gave me a friend like you. Open, honest, passionate about God, totally into TRUTH, i love being around you. there is an easy and genuine camaraderie with you. i hope to become a better friend by watching, listening and absorbing some of the you-ness. 🙂

    LOVE LOVE LOVE you.
    su

    Reply

  4. raquelamisto
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 15:20:35

    I’m tearing up… you have no idea how much that I needed that encouragement today – trust me. But when all feels so lost and overwhelming and dark, there’s God’s heart (shown through you) reminding us that He is there and that He notices.

    Geez girl! Where’s the tissue?

    Mine for you:
    Nicole, your heart for God and His Word burn through your words online and through your voice on the phone. Your passion to know Him better is contagious and for that, I am thankful. I know, without a doubt, that God put you in my life to teach me to learn more about God’s character… does that make sense? To seek after who is, was, and forever will be. To grow into a deeper relationship with Him by letting Him do the talking. Bless you my friend…

    Reply

  5. Nicole
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 17:40:50

    you girls are far too generous – thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

