I know it’s just “Stuff”….

break in 1

I am trying to get my filing cabinet in order.  Now, you have to understand that I keep a clean house, Because I am very good at stuffing things in lots of “special places”.  I have about 8 different places right now that I “file” things into – which mostly means the-drawer-below-where-I-set-the-mail-down – which ever room that is.

But, as I go through my junk, I come across photos tucked in an envelope.  They are pictures of all my jewellry pre-Christmas-2004.  I had to give them to the insurance company, as proof of what I had owned.

We got broken into Christmas day, 2004, and came home to a disaster.  Every room was totalled.  The guy spent quite a while going through things.  He was not malicious, no graffiti, nothing intentionally broken.  And he walked out of the house with $10,000 worth of my stuff in one duffel bag he had taken out of the closet.

I don’t normally think about it.  I don’t dwell on the events, nor am I paranoid about things happening again.  And usually, I say “It’s just stuff” – it does not really matter.  But, today I want my original wedding rings back.  I want the necklace my husband bought me to wear at my sister’s wedding – five weeks before it was stolen.  I want my earrings he bought because he loves me.  I want my Grandmother’s ring.  I love my replacement jewellry.  They are beautiful – in many ways I like them better.  But today, it’s not the same.  I am feeling, ashamedly sentimental about earthly treasures today.  What a concrete reminder of What is important.  And it’s not the rings on my fingers…..

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. krislinatin
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 16:31:22

    That is a total bummer about the break in.
    your room looks like my craft room right now, complete with the black cat. Is that a picture of the house after the break in or now?

    Reply

  2. Nicole
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 07:24:07

    Ha! That would be post break in…. The guy removed pretty much everything from every drawer in the house….

    Reply

  3. Jeromy
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 12:25:42

    LOL…

    We had a fire some years ago and lost 2/3 of out stuff. I hear ya. Funny how quickly we repopulate our house with stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

