The only thing to not disappoint…

I was reading a blog on Piper’s site, which kinda got me thinking….

How many times has someone said “Man!  You have GOT to see this movie!  It’s AMAZING!!!”  And, sometimes, precisely because they have pumped it up, it disappoints.

Or – It’s a quiet day at Cedar Point , and so you get to ride the Raptor 14 times… and by the fifth time, you really are bored with the thrill (as though you will admit that to the people you came with) but you keep going, because you remember that first moment of excitement – and you want that back.  But there simply is no way to recreate the thrill.

We really do fill our life with cheap substitutions, do we not?  Looking for either the same thrill, or a new thrill, or a chance to recreate a thrill.  But it does not happen.

It is different with God.  If you seek Him, you will find Him.  And He will not disappoint.  This God, who is willing to dwell in the hearts of feeble man, is so great that no one has seen Him in all of His glory.  Moses had to gaze upon His backside, lest he be consummed. 

This God – should you share your delight of Him with others, will not disappoint them.  You can not hype up an encounter with God so much that you have ruined the experience. 

I loved getting my tattoos.  I love being on the back of a motorcycle… and both lose some of their thrill… and both pale in comparison to a God-filled moment.  Better is one day in His court than a thousand elsewhere… Think about that… I so rarely have the faith to believe that.  Could one God saturated day in His Word, where His Spirit is upon you in some glorious, heavy wonder, really be better than three years elsewhere?  I think of all the things that charm me most – if I could live at Disney World with my kids for three years, getting tattoos, riding a bike, playing xbox, having sex, eating chocolate, and steak and enjoying my friends’ company, and playing RockBand; if I could meet Ben Roethlisberger, and John Piper, and Rico, and Rachel…. if I could shower my children with material joys, and swimming with dolphins…..  Being in His presence for a Day would be better than a thousand days of those sorts of elsewhere….

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Matthew
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 16:07:04

    Great! Wonderful! Amen!

    Thanks so much for sharing these thoughts… I have been thinking/pondering/wrestling with these same concepts a lot of late and I agree with you… GOD never disappoints, when we truly seek HIM! Even after my own 10 year “hiatus” from GOD, HE is still good and great and wonderful and awesome!

    Thanks again!

    SDG,
    Matty

    Reply

  2. raquelamisto
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 17:45:52

    ..sigh..

    God rocks.

    Reply

  3. Jeromy
    Nov 29, 2007 @ 00:59:08

    You captured something beautiful with your words. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

