A common Word….

My friend Dave has posted a link to a document, regarding a document put out by leaders in the Muslim community, seeking unity and peace with Christian leaders. The bottom line is, we agree that our God, and Allah are one and the same. A grievous day indeed, when you look at some of the names on the list.

Included are Bill Hybels (Senior Pastor at Willow Creek), Rick Warren, Brian McLaren, Leith Anderson (President, National Association of Evangelicals), John Stott, and a host of professors at prominent schools (Yale, Fuller)

From the Yale document, signed by over 300 Christian leaders:

“The future of the world depends on our ability as Christians and Muslims to live together in peace. If we fail to make every effort to make peace and come together in harmony you correctly remind us that “our eternal souls” are at stake as well.”

I am confused, and disheartened.  I thought our eternal souls were at stake when we failed to place our faith and trust in Christ for salvation?  When we deny our need for Him, and choose not to repent?

 Of course we are to love everyone, my point is not to ignore that…  But to unite, in a manner that denies who God says He is in the Bible is heartbreaking….

“For My own sake, for My own sake, I do it, for how should My name be profaned?  My glory I will not give to another.”  Isaiah 48:11

I know He is sovereign, and I rest in this, even as I pray for the souls of those who are straying so far from the Truth.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. outofthefire
    Nov 26, 2007 @ 13:22:08

    Amen! I read this letter yesterday and it is heartbreaking, to see professing Christians say that Allah is the same as the One, True, God.

    Reply

  2. samlcarr
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 01:18:47

    Verity,
    I am somewhat surprised that the “Christian Response” is being labeled as something other than what it is. Both the documents have been very carefully worded to express solidarity without getting into matters of theology. These are both documents about love and are not about the nature of God nor do they (on either side) compromise in any way the beliefs of Judaism, Christianity or Islam.

    Please don’t be hasty to condemn.

    Reply

  3. clearly
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 02:43:22

    Verity,

    Thanks for saying something about this…

    I just wanted to comment about God’s sovereignty in the face of apostasy — I will do so on two levels.

    Level #1: I am thankful for apostasy — because of it, the true church of God has been forced to clearly articulate doctrine and stand more firmly and passionately upon it.

    Level #2: I believe there are two aspects of God’s glory. The first is instrinsic to his nature — it never changes. God is who He is and nothing that is accomplished or not accomplished upon this earth can or will change his intrinsic glory. The second is the earthly manifestation of his glory — in this age, God’s glory is reflected most excellently when his children obey (or in Piper language, “are satisfied in him”).Thus, the entire goal of Paul’s life was to magnify Christ (Phil. 1:20)— do all to the glory of God (1 Cor. 10:31). There are going to be times that the reflection of God’s glory upon the earth is marred. However, in the eschaton, God will be completely glorified when the elect are completely gathered AND when the unregenerate are judged (Rev. 21).

    Is God completely glrorified right now? As the author of Hebrews says, “we do not yet see everything in subjection to him.”

    The better question is, “is he glorified in my life?”

    Just my thoughts…

    Reply

  4. Verity
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 09:41:08

    Clearly – is not seeing Him in His full glory the same as His not being fully glorified? I guess I have never thought of what you are proposing before – I think (and this line of reasoning comes from Knowledge of the Holy) that God can not be any more or less than He always has been…

    Now we see in a mirror dimly….

    Sam,

    I understand where you are coming from, and your concerns. I do not want anyone to think I am against peace, or have anything against Muslims. But this document takes things further than it ought – especially if you check out some of the further reading on http://www.acommonword.com That we are meeting on the common ground our OT God being the same as Allah is fairly evident, I believe, even as Christians use the names of Allah to refer to God….

    I do not believe I have mispresented the document, or its intents.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: A common Word « Verity

Leave a Reply

