I chickened out, again.

So, this kid comes to my door (are nineteen year olds kids?)  and wants to sell me magazine subscriptions.  It is cold out, so I invite him in for hot chocolate – which he accepts. 

On his way out, he tells me “this is the first house I have been in in all of Canada that has asked me in for hot chocolate.”  And I freeze.  I wanted to say “God is good to me, I wanted to share His blessings today.”  I should have been prepared to share “the hope that is in me.”  And I chickened out…  So tired of saying to myself “next time, next time…”

More love, oh Christ to Thee, more love to Thee! 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. moveintothehood
    Nov 18, 2007 @ 13:01:45

    You big chicken

    Reply

  2. moveintothehood
    Nov 18, 2007 @ 13:05:53

    Just kidding 🙂 I am tired of the same thing. I learned just recently again about the importance of making the most of every opportunity to share the hope that is in me. Check out my post entitled “Don’t make the Same Mistake I Did.

    Reply

  3. susan
    Nov 18, 2007 @ 15:47:08

    arg. i totally froze today too. two guys (mid20-30’s) came to the door asking to rake my leaves, and i was just on my way out, with no cash on me…. and i stumbled over words saying that we were going to do yard work on tuesday…. aarg. i totally can’t think on the spot. i should have asked them to come back, or something… if they have raked our leaves , we could have served them coffee and cookies and GOd’s truth…. why does my brain not work on the spot?? help.
    su

    Reply

  4. moveintothehood
    Nov 20, 2007 @ 21:56:43

    I think that sometimes its no about so much about articulating the gospel to someone. I think if we do that when we arent prompted by the Holy Spirit it can be counterproductive. Sometimes I think just listening to someone,or having a kind word to say,or selflessly serving someone can be just as powerful of a testimony as anything.

    Reply

  5. Verity
    Nov 21, 2007 @ 08:42:24

    Agreed. Except that I felt prompted, and ignored it – out of fear. Which is silly, and sinful, you know?

    I do not think we should force it all the time, but I also think that if Christians stood out like they ought, in love and good deeds, and then made a vocal indication of WHY they are different, then God would be glorified, and men would draw near to Him.

    I think this kid should have known that I brought him into my house, as an extension of the love God has for me… I did not expect a convert or anything at that moment-but I wanted to plant a seed, and then trust the Lord to have someone else water… and He gets the increase.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

