Repent, and return to your first love

The problem is not that we are not loving enough, that is a fruit.  The problem is that the love of God is not in us.  We are judgemental, and hypocritical, unreal and harsh, because we do not know what it means to be broken at the foot of the cross. 

Maybe that sounds contradictory – but I think that so often, as we focus on the verb love, as it pertains to others, we end up like the church at Ephesus….

The charge to the church at Ephesus we would do well to remember.  “You have abandoned the love you had at first.  Remember therefore from where you have fallen; repent, and do the works you did at first.” Revelation 2:4,5  For all of their on-going works, their weeding out of the false prophets, their patience… they had walked away from their first love.  Their fruits, by any measure, were healthy, but their hearts were still far from loving God. 

What I found most intriguing from this passage, was that when commanded to repent, they were also commanded to do the works they had done at first.  How were those works different from what they were currently doing?  What did their works, done while in their first love, look like? 

Perhaps some of the answer is in Ephesians 5:2,15-21  “Walk in love, as Christ loved us, and gave Himself up for us…..  making the best use of time… be filled with the Spirit, addressing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody to the Lord with all your heart, giving thanks always and for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, submitting to one another out of reverence for Christ.” 

When is the last time I addressed anyone in a psalm?  Never?  Or submitted to a brother or sister out of reverence to Christ….  Or, how often do I make the best use of my time?  I waste so many precious moments!  And, the angel said “repent”!  He did not say they were doing all sorts of sins – he had, in fact, just listed off a few great things they were doing.  But still, the call to repent – to return to their/our first love….  Oh, let us return!

 

Depth of Mercy – Wesley

Depth of mercy! Can there be
Mercy still reserved for me?
Can my God His wrath forbear,
Me, the chief of sinners, spare?

I have long withstood His grace,
Long provoked Him to His face,
Would not hearken to His calls,
Grieved Him by a thousand falls.

I have spilt His precious blood,
Trampled on the Son of God,
Filled with pangs unspeakable,
I, who yet am not in hell!

I my Master have denied,
I afresh have crucified,
And profaned His hallowed Name,
Put Him to an open shame.

Whence to me this waste of love?
Ask my Advocate above!
See the cause in Jesus’ face,
Now before the throne of grace.

Jesus, answer from above,
Is not all Thy nature love?
Wilt Thou not the wrong forget,
Permit me to kiss Thy feet?

If I rightly read Thy heart,
If Thou all compassion art,
Bow Thine ear, in mercy bow,
Pardon and accept me now.

Jesus speaks, and pleads His blood!
He disarms the wrath of God;
Now my Father’s mercies move,
Justice lingers into love.

Kindled His relentings are,
Me He now delights to spare,
Cries, “How shall I give thee up?”
Lets the lifted thunder drop.

Lo! I still walk on the ground:
Lo! an Advocate is found:
“Hasten not to cut Him down,
Let this barren soul alone.”

There for me the Savior stands,
Shows His wounds and spreads His hands.
God is love! I know, I feel;
Jesus weeps and loves me still.

Pity from Thine eye let fall,
By a look my soul recall;
Now the stone to flesh convert,
Cast a look, and break my heart.

Now incline me to repent,
Let me now my sins lament,
Now my foul revolt deplore,
Weep, believe, and sin no more.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. olu
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 10:54:06

    i need to know u beter more. be cause im interested in u

    Reply

  2. tokunbo
    Nov 15, 2007 @ 14:35:41

    I AM MAKING EVERY EFFORT TO FID MY FIRST LOVE (JESUS)I HOPE I DO FIND HIM THE WAY I USE TO WHEN I FIRST BELIVED ,THANKS I AM INPIRED TO TRY HARDER,I AM ALSO A TEACHER OF THE WORD.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

