The Shack Chat.

So, a few of us have decided to get together and discuss a book called “The Shack” by William Young.  It is a novel, but full of alot of theology.  The bit I know of Jeromy , Jonathan, and Raquel, I know this should be some really interesting dialogue! Feel free to join in our discussions – even if you have not read the book, the content is worth chatting about.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ryan (Barnes and Nobel, Fort Gratiot, MI)
    Nov 12, 2007 @ 17:05:14

    Hey, how are you doing?

    I hope all is going well for you over there in Sarnia.

    I have a question that you may be able to answer … What do you know about Sam Roberts?

    Ryan

    Reply

  2. Ryan (Barnes and Nobel, Fort Gratiot, MI)
    Nov 12, 2007 @ 17:07:29

    please email me in response. Thanks.

    Reply

  3. Ryan (Barnes and Nobel, Fort Gratiot, MI)
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 22:12:37

    Hey. Thank you for responding so quickly 🙂

    The reason I ask about this guy is because I have a friend who currently just proclaimed him to be a wonderful musician. Which I know is totally not true, since from all of the research I have done (today) he appears to have bad fruit. I was just trying to get insight on my friend by looking at the music he has chose to raise up. That way I might understand his mindset better, but really … if the young man is not willing to simply state the mindset he has and only wants to attend our group to “change our perspective” then he is not coming with a heart open to the truth of Christ.

    I will not say I am an expert, however. This is the first time I’ve ever dealt with such a situation … thankfully I have many others beside me–Praying for God to give me wisdom as well as for the young man’s delivery from the evil one.

    On another note, I just wanted to let you know that the Rob Bell thing is going very well. I had a nice conversation with a lady from my church that stands confidently in the opinion that he is not a part of the emergent church. She feels this way personally and has further confidence knowing that our pastors feel the same way. Recently, I also found out that a married couple from our young adult group (who moved to Grand Rapids) is currently attending the church at which Rob Bell contributes pastorally (what role he plays at Mars Hill I don’t know for sure). Knowing Grant, the husband of the couple, I am sure he’s examined the church closely to insure he is not attending a church which operates emergently*.

    I hope to hear from you soon and I pray that the Lord Bless You and give you His peace.

    In Jesus Christ,
    Ryan Ranocchini

    (I tried to email this to you, but I’m am not sure it worked)

    Reply

  4. Verity
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 22:43:48

    my gmail was broken today, and I could not respond! will reply more tomorrow Ryan…

    Reply

  5. Elizabeth
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 01:26:18

    Hi, I don’t know you, but I wanted to write in case you ever read this again. It sounds like you were relieved to find out Rob Bell was NOT a part of the emergent church. I’m assuming, then, that you know something about emergent and that it isn’t good and that it’s important to watch out for false doctrine. So i wanted to let you know then, that Rob bell is VERY MUCH a part of that movement and Mars Hill is DEFINITELY emergent. Please check out the following websites/articles. The first has articles that are extremely well written, almost hard to understand but really great. http://www.apprising.org/
    http://www.watchman.org/
    hope that helps…

    Reply

  6. Nicole
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 09:21:30

    Thanks for the links Elizabeth!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

