Who Himself can receive nothing…

I am in the process of reading a book called Knowledge of the Holy.  Wow.  Clearly, this book is beating out some Piper and Lewis books for top ten reads – so thank you. 

It really is incredible how in-perspective life feels when we are thinking on God, and not ourselves.  And while I cannot say I am really learning new truths, persay, I am definately excited at how BIG God seems.  More on that vein in a later blog…

Something that really stood out for me was this line in chapter six:  “….who Himself can receive nothing that He has not first given.”  Wretched woman that I am!  Of course, I know that I have nothing in this life that He has not blessed me with… but I do not often think about how not-my-life my life is.  How, not even my praise to God is not His already.  I could not offer Him a sacrifice, of money, or beast (not that we are called to this anymore), or time, that does not belong to Him already.  There is not a good word that falls out of my mouth, that He does not absolutely deserve.  That He accepts my meager offerings of His own goodness, given back to Him, is grace upon grace! 

“I will give you all my worship, I will give you all my praise….”  As though we have anything to give the King of kings! 

You are not your own, you were bought with a price.  So glorify God with your body!  It is all His.  This earth – created, sustained by Him.  My being – kept in good health by Him.  My days, my moments – all His….  And I choose sometimes, in my sinful humanness, to say “mine!”  This is “me time”  my down time, my nap time, my evening, my weekend….  Life is too short to view it as mine!  May I glorify Him in what I do – by recognising that my days are His days – my money is His, my time is His… may I do what honors Him.

My five year old, in his enthusiasm, and delight in being my child (these moments happen 🙂  likes to run around the house, and wrap up some of his favorite things, and give me a present.  He never has much to offer – it is always, inevitably something I bought for him.  But, in his humility, and eagerness to say “I love you” he hands me the only thing he has.  It is sweet.  It is endearing – precisely because I know what he is regifting was important to him.  Precisely because it is all he can make a gift of.  Precisely because I purchased it for him, but he wants to reciprocate.  May my heart be softened towards the Lord, as the heart of my son is towards me!  To say, “This is all I have, I know it came from you, I know it really is yours to begin with.  But, I love you.  Please, delight in my delight in you.”  In our humility, we cannot forgot that it was God’s to begin with.  We really are not giving Him anything that He is not, with a Word, sustaining.  And yet He is still glorified!!!  Oh – merciful, sweet condescention!  Delight with me, in a God who loves us, and accepts from our hands all that is already His.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. clearly
    Oct 20, 2007 @ 10:02:15

    Romans 11:33 and on: Oh, the depth of the riches and wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are his judgments and how inscrutable his ways! For who has known the mind of the Lord, or who has been his counselor? Or who has given a gift to him that he might be repaid? For from him and through him and to him are all things. To him be glory forever. Amen.

    My heart shouts Amen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

